Investigation Discovery: A Dangerous Habit

So today, I’m stuck on the sofa, as repair guys are here replacing doors, faucets, etc, in the house we rent.  There’s some frightening cursing, banging, clattering and yelling coming from both the kitchen and the office.  Hopefully it will be over soon.

Anyway, the fact that I’ve been home all day can only mean one thing: ID (Investigation Discovery) network.  Never watched it?  It’s the network featuring shows like “Wives with Knives” and “Nightmare Next Door.” First class entertainment, people!

Also stands for "I'm Drunk."

Also stands for “I’m Drunk.”

Although the shows on this channel are not exactly the same as the other reality shows I cover (they are “true crime” as opposed to “true crimes against humanity), they do fill my need/want/desire to escape into somebody else’s nightmare.

The problem with these shows, though, is that they make me paranoid.  Since I started watching the ID network about a year ago, I have far more anxiety about “normal” day-to-day activities.  If I go for a walk, I’m always looking behind my shoulder.  When I get in my car, I check the backseat first.  In the shower, I keep thinking I hear somebody in the house.  It’s gotten so bad that I even have suspicions of family and friends who are in the process of divorce; what if said wife axes said husband for life insurance?

It’s enough to make me feel like I’m going crazy…

Also: these shows have convinced me that if your husband or wife gets murdered, even if you didn’t do it, you’d better be prepared to climb right up into that electric chair and hold on tight.  Basically, unless somebody else confesses to the murder, you’re getting convicted.  Pretty terrifying!

On that note: don’t ever get murdered, hubby.  For one, because I love you, for another, because they’ll think I did it.

Seriously, juries don’t need any evidence other than “you got mad at your wife once and yelled at her at an office party” and they’re sending you straight to the slammer!

But I really think it’s time to stop watching ID…if only so I can sleep at night!

 

Leave a Reply

